Everything you need to know about the FFA’s FIFA 18 e-League

POSTED BY Toby Berger February 1, 2018 in ArticlesEsports, Featured, Top Post,
Post thumbnail

With the competitors of the FFA’s inaugural e-League announced, let’s jump into how you’ll be able to watch the event, alongside more of the nitty gritty details about what the e-League entails.

The Teams & Players

Following the e-League draft on February 1st, all A-League clubs now have two competitors (one on PlayStation 4, the other on Xbox One) to represent their team.

Here’re the players:

Adelaide United
Zachary May-Burgess – vDreaMz—Shooter (PlayStation 4)
Jamie O’Doherty – FUTWIZ Jamie (Xbox One)

Brisbane Roar
Dino Flocco – ol_Mate_ (PlayStation 4)
James Williams – iCripsy (Xbox One)

Central Coast Mariners
Matthew Camilleri – Terry Mcflynn (PlayStation 4)
Kiran Gupta – KyrenFIFA (Xbox One)

Melbourne City
Josh Wood – joshingwood (PlayStation 4)
Marcus Gomes – SoccerStar007777 (Xbox One)

Melbourne Victory
Mouad Zwed – MuadZwed (PlayStation 4)
Mitch Austin – ALCATRAZ 2025 (Xbox One)

Newcastle Jets
Bohdan Ling – Grim_rap_er (PlayStation 4)
Dane Crow – Bossierhickory8 (Xbox One)

Perth Glory
Peter Saisanas – saisanas (PlayStation 4)
David Cook – HighFly357 (Xbox One)

Sydney FC
Mark Brijeski – xMarkoHD (PlayStation 4)
Samer Elbadar – Samer96_ (Xbox One)

Wellington Phoenix
Christian Bartolillo – Fweshest (PlayStation 4)
Justin Josevski – Justmanutd12 (Xbox One)

Western Sydney Wanderers
Rick Tran – RDOUBLETTT (PlayStation 4)
Joseph Nassar – OhNoAGoat (Xbox One)

Watching the e-League Fixtures

The first round of the e-League will take place on the 15th of February from 8pm AEDT, and will be live streamed on both FOX Sports and the official eLeague Twitch channel. Matches will coincide with the final nine rounds of the Hyundai A-League.

Fixture List

Round 1 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday February 15

  • Melbourne Victory vs Brisbane Roar
  • Melbourne City vs Sydney FC
  • Western Sydney Wanders vs Newcastle Jets
  • Wellington Phoenix vs Perth Glory
  • Adelaide United vs Central Coast Mariners

Round 2 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday February 22

  • Central Coast Mariners vs Wellington Phoenix
  • Brisbane Roar vs Newcastle Jets
  • Melbourne Victory vs Adelaide United
  • Perth Glory vs Melbourne City
  • Sydney FC vs Western Sydney Wanderers

Round 3 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday March 1

  • Melbourne City vs Melbourne Victory
  • Newcastle Jets vs Sydney FC
  • Brisbane Roar vs Adelaide United
  • Western Sydney Wanderers vs Wellington Phoenix
  • Perth Glory vs Central Coast Mariners

Round 4 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday March 8

  • Sydney FC vs Wellington Phoenix
  • Newcastle Jets vs Melbourne Victory
  • Adelaide United vs Perth Glory
  • Central Coast Mariners vs Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Brisbane Roar vs Melbourne City

Round 5 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday March 15

  • Western Sydney Wanderers vs Perth Glory
  • Adelaide United vs Melbourne City
  • Wellington Phoenix vs Newcastle Jets
  • Sydney FC vs Brisbane Roar
  • Melbourne Victory vs Central Coast Mariners

Round 6 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday March 22

  • Adelaide United vs Newcastle United
  • Central Coast Mariners vs Sydney FC
  • Melbourne City vs Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Wellington Phoenix vs Brisbane Roar
  • Melbourne Victory vs Perth Glory

Round 7 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday March 28

  • Perth Glory vs Sydney FC
  • Adelaide United vs Wellington Phoenix
  • Brisbane Roar vs Central Coast Mariners
  • Melbourne Victory vs Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Newcastle United vs Melbourne City

Round 8 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday April 5

  • Newcastle Jets vs Perth Glory
  • Western Sydney Wanderers vs Brisbane Roar
  • Melbourne City vs Central Coast Mariners
  • Melbourne Victory vs Wellington Phoenix
  • Sydney FC vs Adelaide United

Round 9 – Watch Live from 8pm, Thursday April 12

  • Sydney FC vs Melbourne Victory
  • Wellington Phoenix vs Melbourne City
  • Central Coast Mariners vs Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory vs Brisbane Roar
  • Wellington Phoenix vs Adelaide United

League Structure

Clubs will be awarded points throughout the fixtures depending on the result of both of their games, which will be: Win = 3 points, Draw = 1 point, Loss = 0 points, No Result = 0 points.

It’s worth noting the e-League Premiership Rounds will determine a winning club, not an individual winning competitor. This will come down to the point structure outlined above.

Results and points for each round of competition will be decided through the aggregation of scores in each leg (PS4 & Xbox legs), much like a two-legged tie in Champions League knock-out stages (see UEFA Champions League & UEFA Euro League structure). When all rounds have been completed, all ten A-League clubs will be ranked based on their total points accumulated.

Much like the A-League, the team that finishes first will be crowned e-League Premiers.

It’s also worth noting that all competitors are able to use any FIFA Ultimate Team players they want, meaning it’ll be very likely we’ll see a lot of Messi, Ronaldo, and the like in the competition. However, a stipulation of the e-League is that all players must have at least three A-League players in their team.

Finals Series

Following on from the e-League Premiership Rounds, a live Finals Event will happen shortly thereafter (no date has been announced as of yet), with competitors facing off in a tournament on their respective console to determine both a PlayStation and an Xbox winner. Winners from this tournament will then play in a two-legged home and away final to determine the e-League champion.

The first of its kind in Australia for FIFA, this will be a fascinating competition to watch play out!

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *