Blizzard has announced the return of the Overwatch World Cup for 2018 and details on the road map and how to get involved. Unfortunately this year, Australia misses out on another amazing event as we played host country to an Overwatch World Cup group stage last year in Sydney. Host countries this year will be: South Korea, USA, Thailand and France.

This year will also see the top 20 countries determined by average SR (skill rating) be invited to the Overwatch World Cup. Last year, the world cup featured 32 countries. Australia is currently ranked 15th in the world at the moment.

Blizzard has also changed the way qualified countries’ National Competition Committees are formed. Each committee will feature a GM, a coach, and a community lead. The creation will begin in May and will feature two different phases. Below shows how the National Competition Committee is formed. The National Competition Committees will be revealed on May 31st.

From June to July, the National Competition Committees will host tryouts where played can compete for a spot on their country’s team. Group Stages will be played at the host cities with the playoffs and final taking place at Blizzcon 2018 in November.

For more details on the Overwatch World Cup 2018, check out the details here.